Energy Intelligence has awarded its Energy Innovation Award to energy company Equinor in recognition of the company’s proactive role in the energy transition.

The Energy Innovation Award recognizes the greatest improvement made by an incumbent oil and gas company in adapting to the energy transition over the previous year. It is rooted in quantitative data, as measured by Energy Intelligence’s Energy Transition Service benchmarking. The winner is then selected from a shortlist by an independent panel of leading experts in finance, government, academia and consulting.

“Equinor is ranked as one of the industry leaders overall – across our three Energy Transition Research benchmarks,” said TJ Conway, head of Energy Transition Research at Energy Intelligence. “This includes our latest ESG Climate Risk Benchmark , in which it ranks first, thanks to its leading carbon performance as well as strong engagement scores. It has continued to build on its pre-eminent position in offshore wind – supporting its second-place rank in our assessment of total low-carbon investments by value – but is also playing an integral role in other areas like CCS and hydrogen.”

In addition to its first-place position in the ESG Climate Risk Benchmark, Equinor ranks fourth in our Vulnerability Index and second in our Low-Carbon Investment Tracker .

“Equinor has been a longtime force in the energy transition. It stands out from the pack on everything from technological leadership to engagement,” said Lauren Craft, editor of EI New Energy and administrator of the award. “The energy transition will need experienced oil and gas players at the table to ensure advanced energy technologies improve, scale up and grow even more affordable. Equinor has been a proven leader on this front." The award will be presented to Equinor CEO Anders Opedal on October 5, during a ceremony at the Energy Intelligence Forum to be held online at energyintelligenceforum.com .

Previous winners of the award, formerly known as the Leadership in New Energy Award, are TotalEnergies (2020), Royal Dutch Shell (2019), Vattenfall (2018), Engie (2017), Total (2016), Equinor (then Statoil) (2015), Orsted (then Dong Energy) (2014), Iberdrola (2013) and Masdar (2012).